Roasted Roots

My mom is notorious for burning herself while cooking, and slicing her fingers on too-sharp kitchen knives.

She doesn’t follow recipes and afterward can never say exactly what ended up in the mix. Despite this and because of this everything she cooks is delicious and impossible for me to replicate. A meal with my mom is a one-time experience.

She dashes around the kitchen and throws things into pots, things I didn’t even know my kitchen contained and never would consider combining. She says that when she reads a recipe she can taste the finished dish in her mouth. Vegetables should be roasted with fresh rosemary. No fresh rosemary? We’ll use nutmeg and dried ginger instead. The kitchen cleaver becomes an extension of her hand and she uses it to gesture and point at things from across the room, slicing dangerously through the air between us.

When she cooks, I get out of the way.

roasted root vegetables boulder colorado

Yesterday, mom’s early morning flight arrived in Denver and we drove directly to the farmer’s market. In Colorado, strong wind signals a change in the weather, which these days usually means snow. The farmers held onto their tent poles and reminded us there were only two weeks of the market left before fresh local veggies would retreat until April.

IMG_0572

Today it is indeed snowing, and last night our dinner was dug from deep within the ground, where the soil is still warm and the frost has yet to penetrate. We bought beets and carrots, sweet potatoes and butternut squash. Turnips seasoned with garlic, shallots and yellow onion, garnished with hard smoked goat cheese.

IMG_0577

My mom likes to say that food is love. Her food is fierce and its production is often overwhelming. She’s never been one to hold back and hurls herself whole-heartedly into whatever task, whatever conversation or inspiration is before her in the moment. She is constantly re-inventing but I know that when it comes to her food, her love—whatever it looks like—there will be plenty and I will be full.

4 thoughts on “Roasted Roots

  1. Hey! Your Dad just told me about your blog. I LOVE this entry-you say so much with so few words. I feel like your Mom is right HERE! Hot canned soup and grilled cheese for us tonight on this cold rainy night. Wish she were here with her loving talents!

  2. Yes, I love being reminded of dinners with your mom! I can still taste those lovely tomatoes drizzled with balsamic vinegarette and parmesan cheese. I have never been able to replicate the last meal I ate with you and your mom. I even went to the farmer’s market at Davis Square but could not locate tomatoes and onions as big as the one your mom had. I have just this moment decided I will try again to make a delicious, inspired, healthy meal as if I were Maureen W. I hope it works! This was great!

Leave a Reply

