A House of Gulls.

I’ve been thinking, reading, writing about houses lately (due to another, soon-to-be-blogged project.) Thinking about the way that the space around us shapes our sense of possibility and the ideas inside of the mind.

Then stepping outside this afternoon, post-rain, the strip of land alongside the creek very green, and bright in the sun that slanted at just the right angle between the clouds and the top of Mt. Sanitas, the soil dark and puddles swirling copper when I walked through them in my boots.

Most of our houses, our apartments, our offices and buildings—they are too box-y, too much involved with themselves and the people who made and live in them. The outside world is unpredictable and influences us, if we let it, will pull us quite naturally out of the minds that we occupy so much of the time.

Perhaps then, the best space would be one that invites in as much of the outside as possible. That does not shelter the live-r, but allows the elements (or at least the experience of the elements), into interior spaces.

What would it feel like to live this way?

“I should like my house to be similar to that of the ocean wind, all quivering with gulls.” ~ Georges Spyridaki

* That last photo, of the tent on the beach in Morocco, comes via Peggy Markel

6 thoughts on “A House of Gulls.

    • Yes of course you can use it! You are about to find a house like the one Georges describes, I think, on the Atlantic coast.🙂

  1. This is something I’ve been thinking a lot about too – that maybe its not just shelter we need, but a place that literally grounds us and keeps us engaged with earth/land/nature/growth. I love the city, but the more time I spend in it the more I feel like it misses the point. The same goes for the suburbs too, and all these spaces that we’ve developed and redeveloped and developed again. Like you said Merete, our shelters have become too involved in themselves, too wrapped up and bubble-like. People are so much more expansive than that. By boxing ourselves in physically, I’m afraid that we’ve forgotten our infinite potential as creative, thinking living things.

  2. This is such a timely piece of writing, as I was just today thinking about ideal writing spaces. I decided that my favorite type of writing environment is one in which I feel cozy and at home, where natural light has the ability to stream in, and also one where I can see the sun setting or rising. I am in love with idea of bringing the outside world in, letting it surround me. And, as always, you have such an eye for using breathtaking photographs. Each one gives birth to a story in my mind. You’ve created yet another insightful post that resonates with all of the thoughts floating around me.

  3. I love this post because I am a self proclaimed “nester”. My living space completes me in a way, it allows me the freedom to open up to all the OTHER possibilities around me. But I KNOW that I need the connection to the world outside of this shell that call HOME. These examples satisfy my desire to be connected to the light of nature…but still feel safe and “nesty.”

    In college one of my historical architecture classes discussed how a regions architecture reflected the personalities and way of life of the people there. Houses in The South have BIG windows, high ceilings and big front porches for friendly sharing with your neighbors. In The North, windows are small, ceilings are low and there are few porches since the weather is often uninviting….What does this tell us about the people, their environment and the way they live? And remember, the PEOPLE built the houses…..Just more thoughts to ruminate….:)

Leave a Reply

